Caught the vintage bug!

Simplicity vintage patternI bought my first ever vintage pattern at Booty Vintage about 10 days ago and I received it this weekend. The pattern dates from 1974, so it’s basically older than I am. I wonder which one of the two, the pattern or me, survived the best during the last 33 years?😉 It’s already cut to the smaller size, whereas I would need the bigger size. But I don’t think it’ll be a problem, because the sewing line is still visible on the pattern: all I have to do is measure 1.5 cm from that sewing line and bingo!

I have a wedding at the end of May, and I want to use this pattern. I think I’ll make view 1 (the black dress on the right) and I can really picture it in a nice pastel color crepe or rayon. The question is: will I find suitable fabric and will it fit? We’ll see. I will most certainly make a muslin, I actually have the perfect fabric for that. If it turns out well, I could use it as a wearable muslin.

Since then, I have found and purchased other vintage patterns at MOMS Patterns, they should arrive soon. I can’t wait to receive them! There are only very few plus-sized vintage patterns around… and I don’t just buy them to collect them, I buy them with the intention of actually making them😉

Leave a Reply

