Making time for sewing

And I thought that joining a sewing class would help me make some time for sewing… NOT! Especially when the schedule of that sewing class comes in conflict with work and other activities that cannot be rescheduled. Which means that I basically haven’t been able to go to class for over a month! I’m disappointed with myself but at the same time, I do feel out of place whenever I go there. I signed up to be able to learn further complicated techniques, challenge myself with something that would be a bit more “couture” than what I usually do, learn about pattern drafting and modifying. But I’m the only one with some sewing experience in class, so I’m always just doing my thing in my little corner when the others learn to thread their machine. This shouldn’t stop me anyway, right? Well, it does. I’m the kind of person who doesn’t quite like to draw attention to herself in a group and if I start a project like, let’s say, an evening gown for a friend of mine (which is something that my friend actually asked me to make for her!), I know that I’ll get a few stares. Of course, getting compliments is always nice, but I don’t want them to think that I’m doing it to ‘show off my skills’ and give them complexes!

Anyway, I’ve done a few projects lately, I just didn’t have time to take pictures yet. I made another version of the HotPatterns Deco Vibe Cosmopolitan dress – three sizes smaller this time! And got tons of compliments from collegues when I wore it to work. So this pattern is definitely turning into a TNT pattern and I can’t wait to get the chance to actually make it again! Pictures are coming up, I promise!

Also, a little announcement from Jalie, hiding somewhere in a comment on this page:

Good news! We will have a new lycra skort pattern soon (the number will be 2796). It should be available online around the third week of November.

That is indeed great news!! :) I can’t wait for the pattern to be out, I’m looking forward to sew some cycling/running clothes for this summer! (when I’ll be all skinny and fit… haha dream on!)

Comments

  1. It’s a shame that your instructor hasn’t done some one on one lessons with you to advance your skills. It’s not fair to you for her to spend all of her time helping newbies. I read a lot of sewing/tailoring books and just try the techniques on my own. If you have an ASG chapter in your area, maybe thru the members you can learn more “couture” techniques. It takes a lot of practice.

  2. marieclaude says:

    Unfortunately, no ASG in the Netherlands😉 Oh well, I guess I’ll try the book & practice option!!

Leave a Reply

