Green dress progress

I have no pictures to show you yet but GOSH how do I love my (future) green dress!

I followed the fit instructions from the pattern and I think I achieved a pretty darn decent fit. But it’s not only about the fit, it’s the overall look of the dress that I love. Professional but yet a tad sexy,  it can be dressed up or down. I’m still not sure what I’m going to do with the neckline. I’d like a collar like on the green dress on the right, but that would mean drafting it on my own… a scary process. I think I can manage to draft it but I have so many questions. Do I still need the front and back facings? Do I need to interface it? Do I need to cut my fabric on the bias?

I guess I’ll take a few hours today to read my pattern drafting books. Hopefully I’ll get some answers.

Edit: on second thought, I’ll leave the round neckline as is for this dress. With the pleats and the tab on the sleeves, along with the buttoned tab at the wasitline, I think there’s enough going on. I can just wear a pretty necklace to spice it up🙂

Leave a Reply

