Overdue review: high waisted pencil skirt

Butterick 5466

Pattern Description:
MISSES’ SKIRT AND BELT: Semi-fitted, straight skirts A, B, C, D, E, above mid-knee, have back zipper closure. A, B, C, E: darts. B, C: waistband. C: self-belt. D: princess seams. D, E: raised waist. E: back princess seams.

Pattern Sizing:
8-24. I first cut what would be a 26 but I had to increase my seam allowance in the end to get a good fit. So all in all, I could have cut a straight 24.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Besides the fact that I’m bigger than the model, yes😛

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Honestly, I didn’t read them at all. They are still in the envelope. It’s a very straightforward skirt with a simple construction. If you’ve made plenty of skirts before, you’ll stitch this one up with your eyes closed.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like that it’s so simple to make and offers plenty of possible variations. In the end I chose the version with a high waist (I wanted to try out that style) and back princess seams. Since my fitting problem is my derriere, I thought it would be easier to fit the skirt with the princess seams. And indeed, it helped a lot. To fit the waist front and back, I ended up taking in 1 cm extra at the front darts and at each of the back seams. I took in about 2 cm extra at the side seams. The skirt fits nicely, following the roundness (ahem) of my backside. The length is also fine, I didn’t need to shorten it. I’m 5’3″, so if someone is taller, the skirt might be a bit short for you, depending on what you like.

Back view

Fabric Used:

A cotton gabardine with some good stretch (no lycra). Very comfortable to wear, but not a good recovery. It’s thicker than the other gabardine fabrics I have, but yet not as thick as denim. I took the pictures after a full day sitting at my desk, so I apologize for the wrinkles. I didn’t bother matching up the flowers at the seams and unfortunately I noticed *after cutting* that most of the flowers on the fabric are pointing down, even though I actually paid attention to the placement of my pattern pieces. I guess I hadn’t paid attention enough…

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
No changes. As I said above, I just graded up to a 26, only to end up more or less with a 24 after taking some cm here and there.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will certainly sew it again, but maybe another view, like view A or view B.

Conclusion:
Simple, straightforward skirt. If you like pencil skirts and style variations, you can easily build a wardrobe with this pattern!

Leave a Reply

