Ready for vacation

Finally, a well-deserved vacation. I can’t wait to get some rest, some sleep and some time off.

To make sure I’d be lounging in style, I worked on a pyjama, a nightgown and a robe over the past weeks and FINALLY, I’m done!

I used Simplicity 3696, grading up to what would be an XXL. As a lot of people said before me, this pattern runs a tad smaller with less ease than usual for a Simplicity pattern. So measure the pattern pieces and compare these measurement with your own to find the correct size.

I first made the nightgown, short version (View B) without the ruffle. I didn’t feel like adding the ruffle. A scalloped edge using my serger was all the frill I wanted. The fit was fine, although my knit (mystery cotton-y knit without lycra I think) didn’t stretch as much as I expected. I actually didn’t have enough to cut the neck binding, so I used contrasting fabric instead, the same fabric I used for the robe and th pyjama pants. Please forgive me for the wrinkles, it got caught within a towel while in the tumble dryer…

Then I made the robe. Again, please excuse the wrinkles and quite wonky appearance, it also got caught within the same towel in the tumble dryer, with the belt tightly wrapped around the “package”. Ugh. I haven’t found the time yet to iron it. The fabric is a cotton jersey knit with no lycra. By design, the collar sort of stands up around the neck instead of laying flat.

Next is the pyjama. The top is basically the same as the nightgown, only shorter😉 To unify the whole set, I also used contrasting neck binding, and just like I did for the nightgown, I added a small ribbon rose at center front. The top is made of a rayon/poly/lycra knit, very lightweight and very stretchy. Comfort guaranteed! The pants are made of the same cotton jersey knit I used for the robe. Contrary to 0ther pyjama pants patterns I used in the past, this one doesn’t have a crotch line that rests between your knees, it actually fits quite nicely!

And for some variation, I made another pyjama top, in purple. With the same contrasting neck binding and the same little rose.

Pfew! That’s it for now. Tomorrow I’ll make a start on my party dress, the absolute last item on my sewing list for this year, yay!

Leave a Reply

