The way to a man’s heart…

It’s been a while since I’ve done so much sewing in my free time, so much that I didn’t remember how it felt to finish something! Ha!

My employer’s Social Committee is organising a Valentine’s Day contest. We have to tell what love means to us and represent this in a creative way. After a bit of soul-searching, I chose to illustrate the saying “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach” with a cute vintage apron with heart-shaped bib and pocket. I used Butterick 5726, view C. I used red polka dots fabric remnants, red satin remnants and a light pink seersucker I bought last spring. The reason why my final version only has 1 pocket is because I found my fabric (satin) to be so fiddly when attaching the ruffle, that I decided to save myself from a trip to the loony bin and I settled for just 1 pocket.

I submitted my entry to the contest, they will announce the winner (of a dinner for 2!) Monday afternoon. Wish me luck🙂

Comments

  1. This is gorgeous and I have to agree on “the way to a man´s heart being through his stomach”! Only wish I had such a fabulous apron to wear…all the best to you, fingers crossed that you´ll soon been enjoying that dinner for 2🙂

  2. There are so many aprons patterns out there, I’m sure you can find yours to make! They are usually relatively simple. I made simpler aprons to give away as presents last year, maybe it’ll inspire you to make your own? (aprons here: https://mysewingpage.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/top-secret-sewing-revealed/) A girl who cooks as much as you MUST have cute aprons😉

  3. What a cute and adorable apron! Very nice. Simply love it.

  4. How cute. Good luck in the contest.

Leave a Reply

